About praise

Really interesting article on praise from brain pickings.

 

http://www.brainpickings.org/2013/05/23/stephen-grosz-examined-life/

 

I’ve noticed that both my mom and mom-in-law do this all the time and I feel like sometimes it can even be an issue of control.  I had a bit of a disagreement with my mom about this very topic actually and I found it helpful in some ways to reevaluate some of the choices I’m making.  It’s funny because my mom reacted by implying that she’d have low self esteem if she wasn’t praised enough.  In some ways I think she needs to be “encouraged” more, but the older generation seem to do a lot of  “good girl!” and “clever girl!”.  It really drives me up the bend.

 

Also saw this randomly floating about the internet this week and found it rather pertinent.

 

http://www.creativechild.com/articles/view/is-praise-bad-for-children

Leave a Reply

